Media Detail

  • Currently 0.0/5 Stars.
Uploaded by : Marc Lafia | 09/09/09

Loading, please wait ...
  • Title:
    Darwin's Meditation for the People of Lincoln commissioned by Brooklyn Academy of Music
  • Artist:
  • Year:
  • Description:
    Charles Darwin and Abraham Lincoln—two extraordinary men—were born within hours of one another on the same auspicious day of February 12, 1809. If one traced the origin of the human species, the other set its destination in motion. In Darwin's Meditation for The People of Lincoln, composer/musician Daniel Bernard Roumain (DBR) brings them toe-to-toe for a lush, orchestral event of historic proportions. A grandly conceived work that employs the expansiveness of SymphoNYC, an eighteen-piece chamber orchestra conducted by Paul Haas, together with four arresting soloists—DBR (violin), Wynne Bennett (prepared piano), Daniel Beaty (spoken word), and Emeline Michel (voice)—Darwin's Meditation for The People of Lincoln sculpts the sound of liberation, survival, and legacy in the image of two of its most tireless proponents. Using texts drawn from both Darwin and Lincoln, plus those of Obie Award-winning playwright Daniel Beaty, DBR creates a brilliantly imagined conversation between two historical giants—and a scintillating, spiritual, sonic vision of what it means to be free.
  • Disciplines and Movements:
    MUSIC, Classical Music and Contemporary
  • Themes and Tags:
    no themes

Add Your Views
Please to comment.