As of Today 21801 Blog Posts

posted on 08.06.09

Where is technology taking us these days! Now, for the second season you can enjoy Berliner Philharmoniker live concerts – sitting comfortably in your chair at home! Last season BP launched “Digital Concert Hall” project making all concerts available to audiences in real time worldview.  For 149 euros (about US$215) you can get Season Pass that allows you to watch all live performances plus access to archives and all past season performances. There are other types of passes as well: 30-day pass (unlimited access for 30 days), live concert pass and archive pass with prices form 9.90 to 39.00 euros (US$ 14- 56) and you can buy a ticket for only one concert. Next concert is scheduled for Friday, 28th which you can attend for 5 euros (US$ 7) and watch Sir Simon Rattle conducting Benjamin Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to Orchestra, première performance of Kaija Saariaho’s Laterna Magica (commissioned by Berliner Philharmoniker and Lucerne Festival) and Berlioz’ Symphonie Fantastique. This season also brings the performances of all Sibelius symphonies, while archives contain all Brahms’ symphonies (among other works) preformed last season! Of course the overall experience depends strogly on your internet connection as well as your sound equipment. In video attached to this blog, Sir Simon Rattle talks about the Digital Hall.

For more information, click here!

Loading, please wait ...
“Wow... Interesting. If they do this right it could really change the way we can view the music. Imagine having control of the video mix yourself... Zooming into the harpists left hand. I wish he had elaborated on the way they intend to record it. Thanks for posting it.”
Posted over 6 years ago
Alen Hadzovic replies:
““Mixing yourself... That would be great! Well, I guess Rattle does not want to reveal all the secrets... He wants us in! Thanks for your comment!"””
Posted over 6 years ago
Add Your Views
Please to comment.



Classical Music



Concert Hall
Sir Simon Rattle
Berlin Philharmonic